dawnswann

Valentine Interlude (To the Tune of Beyond the Sea by Bobby Darin)

In Holidays on February 14, 2011 at 3:18 pm

You might be surprised to learn that I’m no big romantic. I mean, I’m half Italian and I’ve got three kids. The evidence seems to imply otherwise. But in our relationship, Scott’s definitely the romantic. He’s the one who remembers Valentine’s Day before it happens. (Unlike me who is grumbling about having to go to CVS this morning.)He’s the one who drowns strawberries in melted chocolate, plans the romantic dinners, stockpiles ways to keep the romance alive. Sends secret admirer cards in the mail luring me to lunch at my favorite restaurant. Me?  I liked Darcy better after he learned how to slay zombies.

Valentines Day rubs me the wrong way. To me, planned, manufactured romance tastes like eating chalk. I have this friend who had planned on proposing to his girlfriend on Valentine’s Day because she’d told him that was her dream. I laughed because I thought he was joking. I mean, no one outside of the Hallmark and Lifetime channels actually DOES that, right? I could have been kinder; she’d just broken his heart. But, in my opinion, he dodged a bullet with that sap.

Overt romance is for newbies. For beginners. For sissies. It’s for lining the pockets of this capitalist empire. Fly away fat little angel: no sale here.

Real romance can’t be bought at CVS. Real romance shows up in the middle of the night in the form of a sweaty arm splitting the circulation of blood and lymph between your upper and lower halves. And you can’t move it because sleeping arms are much heavier than awake ones. And you know what? You wouldn’t even move it anyway. Because after 15 years of Valentines Days, he still loves you even when he’s sleeping. THAT is romance. And it can’t be bought anywhere.

For what it’s worth, Happy Valentines Day, Scott.  But thank you for loving me all the other days too. I know it can’t always be easy.

PS…Thanks for the chocolates under my pillow.

  1. I totally agree. I’m not a fan of commercialized holidays that dictate you buy a card and tell someone you love him or her. That said, 40 percent of marriage proposals happen between Thanksgiving and Valentine’s Day (with Turkey Day, Christmas, New Year’s Eve, and V-Day being the “big” days), according to The Knot. So there are a lot of sentimental Hallmark folks out there who live for HEA. I love the fact, however, that Scott is so romantic and does those sweet things for you. 🙂

  2. I know it is hard to put aside the crazy world we live in and just focus on each other. Let today be that day, take your eyes off the outside drama the world brings, look into each others eyes and see what kind of world you really have waiting for you. today is all about the love that you have for each other, enjoy it and make each other think of nothing else. It is really hard to open up your heart to the one you have been sharing it with for so long. When you do, you may realize a love that will suprize you. You can never go wrong if you follow your heart.

  3. What a sweet man,,doing all the wooooing to keep you happy and appreciate all you do…I Love Valentines Day ,,because its a reminder to be nice,,even though its expensive ,,if you go that route,,but the gifts from the heart are the best all year long,,so it doesnt get expensive on the “reminder “day:)Love and Light,:)

Leave a Reply

